Massive summer of cricket

Cricket World Cup

Australia bidding for sixth success

Cricket fans around the world are looking forward to this summer's big event, the 12th one-day World Cup, which will be held in England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July.

First contested in 1975, the tournament format has changed over time but in 2019 will comprise all 10 teams playing each other in a round-robin format, with the top four qualifying for the semi-finals.

The tournament starts at the Oval on 30 May, when hosts England take on South Africa, and culminates with the champions being crowned at Lord’s on 14 July.

Afghanistan, reigning champions Australia, Bangladesh, hosts England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies make up the 10-team line-up, with the event being held in England and Wales for a record fifth time.

Australia start their campaign on 2 June against Afghanistan in Bristol targeting a record sixth trophy, after lifting it in 1987, from 1999-2007 and in 2015.

Two-time winners India begin their bid for a third title against South Africa in Southampton on 5 June, with fellow two-time winners West Indies facing 1992 champions Pakistan on 31 May at Trent Bridge in Nottingham. The tournament's only other winner, Sri Lanka, start with an encounter in Cardiff against New Zealand on 2 June.

In total there will be 48 matches in the competition, 45 group games, two semi-finals and the final at Lord's, with all matches played over 50 overs.

The tournament will be held at 11 venues including two in London, with Lord's staging five matches including the final and the Oval also hosting five.

The semi-finals will take place at Old Trafford and Edgbaston, with the Manchester venue holding six matches and the Birmingham venue five.

Trent Bridge and Southampton's Rose Bowl will also host five matches, with four in Leeds at Headingley and Sophia Gardens in Cardiff.

The County Ground in Bristol, the Riverside Ground in Chester-le-Street and County Ground in Taunton will all play host to three matches.

The inaugural event in 1975 was won by the West Indies, who repeated their success in 1979. India won their first title in 1983 but didn't repeat that success until 2007 when they hosted the tournament. Australia were next to be crowned champions before Pakistan broke their duck in Melbourne in 1992, followed by Sri Lanka in 1996.

Australia have won four of the last five tournaments, with hosts England finishing as runners-up on three occasions in 1979, 1987 and 1992. New Zealand were beaten in the 2015 final in Australia.

The record for most runs in the tournament is held by India's Sachin Tendulkar who amassed 2,278, while South Africa's A B de Villiers has the best strike rate at 63.52.

Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara holds the record for most centuries in one tournament, bagging four in 2015, while in the bowling stakes Australia's Glenn McGrath has taken most wickets, with 71.

For more information about the Cricket World Cup visit the website.


30 England v South Africa, The Oval (10:30 BST)
31 West Indies v Pakistan, Trent Bridge (10:30 BST)

1 New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff (10:30 BST)
1 Afghanistan v Australia, Bristol (13:30 BST)
2 South Africa v Bangladesh, The Oval (10:30 BST)
3 England v Pakistan, Trent Bridge (10:30 BST)
4 Afghanistan v Sri Lanka, Cardiff (10:30 BST)
5 South Africa v India, Southampton (10:30 BST)
5 Bangladesh v New Zealand, The Oval (13:30 BST)
6 Australia v West Indies, Trent Bridge (10:30 BST)
7 Pakistan v Sri Lanka, Bristol (10:30 BST)
8 England v Bangladesh, Cardiff (10:30 BST)
8 Afghanistan v New Zealand, Taunton (13:30 BST)
9 India v Australia, The Oval (10:30 BST)
10 South Africa v West Indies, Southampton (10:30 BST)
11 Bangladesh v Sri Lanka, Bristol (10:30 BST)
12 Australia v Pakistan, Taunton (10:30 BST)
13 India v New Zealand, Trent Bridge (10:30 BST)
14 England v West Indies, Southampton (10:30 BST)
15 Sri Lanka v Australia, The Oval (10:30 BST)
15 South Africa v Afghanistan, Cardiff (13:30 BST)
16 India v Pakistan, Old Trafford (10:30 BST)
17 West Indies v Bangladesh, Taunton (10:30 BST)
18 England v Afghanistan, Old Trafford (10:30 BST)
19 New Zealand v South Africa, Edgbaston (10:30 BST)
20 Australia v Bangladesh, Trent Bridge (10:30 BST)
21 England v Sri Lanka, Headingley (10:30 BST)
22 India v Afghanistan, Southampton (10:30 BST)
22 West Indies v New Zealand, Old Trafford (13:30 BST)
23 Pakistan v South Africa, Lord's (10:30 BST)
24 Bangladesh v Afghanistan, Southampton (10:30 BST)
25 England v Australia, Lord's (10:30 BST)
26 New Zealand v Pakistan, Edgbaston (10:30 BST)
27 West Indies v India, Old Trafford (10:30 BST)
28 Sri Lanka v South Africa, Chester-le-Street (10:30 BST)
29 Pakistan v Afghanistan, Headingley (10:30 BST)
29 New Zealand v Australia, Lord's (13:30 BST)
30 England v India, Edgbaston (10:30 BST)

1 Sri Lanka v West Indies, Chester-le-Street (10:30 BST)
2 Bangladesh v India, Edgbaston (10:30 BST)
3 England v New Zealand, Chester-le-Street (10:30 BST)
4 Afghanistan v West Indies, Headingley (10:30 BST)
5 Pakistan v Bangladesh, Lord's (13:30 BST)
6 Sri Lanka v India, Headingley (10:30 BST)
6 Australia v South Africa, Old Trafford (13:30 BST)
9 First semi-final: 1st v 4th, Old Trafford (10:30 BST)
11 Second semi-final: 2nd v 3rd, Edgbaston (10:30 BST)
14 Final, Lord's (10:30 BST)